Tests and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries.

Do you think the educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages?

Education quality is considered as the most important factor to be focused on with all levels in any school system. One of common ways for schools to bring high educational value for students is to test or check students by examinations and the teachers can see how effective their teaching methods are. Despite some obvious disadvantages of this trend, I would argue that those are overweighed by the advantages.

On the one hand, there are two major drawbacks when the tests are used to check how much the students understand the knowledge they studied. Firstly, it will put a huge pressure on students if they want to achieve excellent marks. It is believed by almost students that there should be another way of testing which is less stressful than the traditional exams, in which they are normally required write down all the knowledge under time pressure. Moreover, the stress that students suffer from before taking the exams might lead to the several harmful consequences that is disastrous for their health, for example, smoke addiction and alcoholic. Secondly, it is the marking system that might discourage students by thinking that the results are very often not relevant to their efforts they put into studying. In some universities in Vietnam, it is impossible for students to know why their answers are incorrect since the marked test are not returned to students. This might result in less studying motivation since the grades are often regarded to be unfair.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits are more significant than such disadvantages. One reason for this opinion is that teachers would have an overall view on the students’ ability to absorb the knowledge that they transmitted by asking questions with different level of understanding in the exam, hence improve their teaching methods which helps students understand more thoroughly. Another reason is that taking exams in schools will help students feel more familiar with those tests they might face with in the future, especially when they apply for a job in such big corporations. Preparing for the exams means that students are revising, practicing and therefore trying to remember the knowledge they learned. In addition, those questions in school exams are the basic knowledge in professional employment tests in several companies. Hence, they might be more confident when applying for a job, since the questions asked in the test are based on what they learned at schools before.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the advantages of applying exams to check students’ understanding are more significant that the disadvantages.