Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it legal requirement.

To what extent do you think the laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

The term “3R”, which includes waste reducing, reusing and recycling has been spread out all over the world as one of efficient ways to protect our environment against being more and more polluted. Many people argue that to reduce the amount of waste discharging into the environment, there should be a strict law requiring citizens to recycle more. Personally, I completely agree with this view.

Among variety of reasons why it is necessary for the government to apply regulation encouraging everyone to convert waste materials into the new ones, there is one main reason which is citizens will consider recycling waste as their responsibility when that activity is stated in the law as a requirement. In Ho Chi Minh city, for example, a regulation of classification the household waste into recyclable and non-recyclable trash bins has been approved for a year. Compared to Hanoi capital where there are not any obligation for citizens to divide their rubbish into those two categories, the amount of waste that have been recycled is greater significantly since it is compulsory for people living in Ho Chi Minh city to obey that regulation while in Hanoi, people only recycle when they are in need of new materials.

Apart from the reason I have mentioned above, I also believe that the law will form a guideline of recycling process for everyone to follow. Nowadays, there is a wide range of waste converting progresses that several environment conservation organizations applying which might make it to be difficult for the government to control. However, by planning a standard process monitoring each step in waste recycling, for example, governing the place of waste classification and supervising the operation of waste recycling factories, the authorities will be able to manage the process effectively as well as reducing the citizen’s confusion over the recycling system. The amount of waste turning into new materials is, hence, increased to a certain extent.

In conclusion, for the reasons expressed above, I strongly believe that governing the obligation for citizens to recycle as much as possible is an essential way in saving our Earth by generating more and more new materials from waste.