Many people are working longer and longer hours. What are the reasons and effects?

It is true that more and more people prefer to work in longer hours for some benefits. The reasons for this issue may be because of the need for money to support family and the requirement from the companies asking their workers to spend more time to complete their tasks, however, the harmful effects behind it are beyond a doubt.

At first, when entering the labor market, laborers always tend to make more money to stabilize their own life, which leads to the fact that they would spend more time on their work despite the long hour. Furthermore, a number of companies have published regulations asking their employees to work overtime for the companies’ development. In 2020, it has been reported in VnExpress news that 60% of enterprises in Vietnam requiring their workers to spend more time for the job and this number is higher than that of 2019 at 55%.

Due to the pressure of longer working hour, people may face a lot of risks, especially for their health. They may suffer from spinal, neck or shoulder pain, which would cause their retirement to happen sooner than their expectation. In addition, the stress from working overtime could lead to high depression and mental illness. Japan is a great example of this issue, annually, 20% of the employees commit suicide due to long depression from working without treatment.

In conclusion, money and prosperity may be the main reasons for longer-hour working and the effects behind it is very toxic, not only to human’s physical condition, but also to their mental health. As a result, they should take some methods to balance between work and their private life.