Many countries import large amounts of food from other parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development

It is believed that there are conflicting views about the fact that a lot of food is imported from around the world to one nation. Although there could be some advantages for poor people in developing countries, however, such action could create bad affection to the society since the waste of those food may pollute the natural environment.

Firstly, imported food can be useful for countries, which suffer from serious famine. Furthermore, it is such a waste if dumping food to the rubbish bag, while people can use it to feed starving civilians in poor nations. Madagascar, for example, is famous for the starvation throughout this country for years. The government in this state had no other choice but to ask for food support from other welfare countries, to feed their people.

On the other hand, importing food can also be considered as a serious problem to the living environment. The carbon released from dumped food could cause serious consequences to the air. According to air report published on VnExpress news in 2019, there is a connection between the carbon from wasted food and the pollution in the atmosphere. From 2009 to 2019, the air quality in Brazil had decreased from 67% to 64% and one of the reasons that caused such issue is because of imported food.

In conclusion, despite the fact that many countries are in need of imported food use, importing too much this kind of food may cause some negative problems, especially the environment issue in one country.