Many people are working longer and longer hours. What are the reasons and effects?

In this day and age, it is generally known that the rising number of people have a tendency to spend more time working than in the past. There are several reasons behind this phenomenon and the significant impact that it has on each individual and society.

People choose to dedicate themselves to working long hours because they may want to improve their financial capability and pursue their career prospects. Firstly, a lot of people are the pillar of their family, and it would be beneficial for them to work harder to earn enough living, and therefore would lead to a higher standard of living. In fact, numerous companies reward their employees with a higher amount of income if they are able to work overtime. Secondly, countless individuals are willing to work longer hours to fulfill their career development. As they are more diligent and productive than their workmates, they are able to be a potential figure for promotion which inevitably results in higher positions and salaries.

For those aforementioned reasons, this proclivity could have a considerable impact on both society and individuals. First of all, working longer hours provides people with personal achievements. By dint of putting endless effort into working process, people are likely to reach their full potential and give out the best job performances. However, if they do not distribute their time smartly, they will end up harming their mental energy and health, because they might feel under stress and strain of lethargic and tedious workload. As a result, this could detrimentally affect brain development. Secondly, this trend may be contributed to the development of the whole society with regard to economic progress. People are likely to become more competitive, therefore pushing their limits and in turn significantly increasing the national profit.

In conclusion, this trend may develop greatly in the future due to the financial situations and career ladder of numerous citizens, and thus may affect both society and individuals dramatically.