Many people are working longer and longer hours. What are the reasons and effects?

In this day and age, the rising number of people tends to spend more time working than in the past. There are several reasons behind this phenomenon and the significant impact having on each individual and society.

People choose to dedicate themselves to working long hours because they may want to improve their financial capability and pursue their career prospects. Firstly, many people are the pillar of their family, and it would be beneficial for them to work harder to earn enough living. It, therefore, leads to a higher standard of living. Numerous companies would reward their employees with a higher amount of income if they could work overtime. Secondly, countless individuals are willing to work longer hours to fulfill their career development. As they are more diligent and productive than their workmates, they can be a potential figure for promotion which inevitably results in higher positions and salaries.

For the above reasons, this pattern could have a considerable impact on both society and individuals. First of all, working longer hours provides people with personal achievements. By putting endless effort into the working process, people are likely to reach their full potential and give out the best job performances. However, if they do not distribute their time smartly, they will harm their mental health, because they might feel under stress and strain of tedious workload. As a result, this could detrimentally affect brain development. Secondly, this trend may contribute to the development of the whole society concerning economic progress. People are likely to become more competitive, therefore pushing their limits and significantly increasing the national profit.

In conclusion, this trend may develop in the future due to the financial situations and career prospects of numerous citizens, and thus may affect both society and individuals dramatically.