Many people believe that cities should not try to preserve its old historic buildings and instead, they should destroy them and replace them with modern buildings.

To what extent do you agree?

Many historical buildings are suggested to be replaced instead of preserved. But to me, I strongly believe that these constructions should be kept as their original and only fix the parts that have been damaged.

First of all, these buildings are not just old, rusty buildings but they are special because of their historical meaning. Those meanings are what can’t be suspended. When we replace them with modern buildings, not only do they lose the ancient structures but also the memories that connect strictly to those historical events. Historic constructions are undeniable, truthful witnesses about the past . For example, the Independent place located in the middle of Sai Gon. The place is enormous so it uses a lot of land. But we can’t not tear it down, but it’s a strong, powerful symbol to the Vietnamese as a mark of complete freedom from hundreds of years of being dominated. Each construction has its own value, and has its own meaning to a certain group of people. They are memories, beliefs, ways to say goodbye to the good old days and the method to hold our beliefs. That is why it can not be suspended by cutting-edge buildings.

Secondly, historical buildings also appear to educate youngsters. For instance, the Con Dao prison’s existence is to remind people about all the hard work that Vietnamese soldiers had been through in order to save the country. It appears so that the soldiers' legendary sacrifices will live on, and to educate the young generation to follow their hirotic steps and contribute to the nation. Not only do historical sites bring education purposes but they also bring prospilities to a country. In Particular, they have a huge contribution to the income in tourism. Famous attractions or historic structures are never missed while visiting a new country. That is why the appearance of those constructions will gain a gigantic advantage to tourism. Tourism can sell tickets to visit these places or develop more conveniences near those locations. All those actions have economical effects on nation wealth. And also historic sites will also raise visitors' curiosity and help them understand more about the country’s history, culture as well as religion.

To that extent, historical buildings are and will never be replaced by modern conveniences due to their meaningful and economical purpose. Instead, we should perverse, protect and cherish those constructions with all our hearts.