Many people believe that cities should not try to preserve its old historic buildings and instead, they should destroy them and replace them with modern buildings.

To what extent do you agree?

City historic structures are suggested not to be preserved but to be superseded with cutting-edge constructions instead. I totally disagree with this sentiment since the old historical sites foster a sense of patriotism and bring prosperity to the economy.

The reservation of such buildings is firstly essential to reinforce citizens, especially the youth, with a strong feeling of patriotism. Cultural relics are part of history reflecting the associated events when forefathers and ancestors of a nation sacrificed themselves for its survival and growth. These forms of living history, such as museums or cultural heritage, can give the young generations the inherent value of peace and arouse a spirit of national identity. Take the Atomic Bomb Dome in Hiroshima, Japan for example, this historic site is a remainder of war calamity and it has been encouraging generations to work diligently for their country’s contribution.

Not only can historical constructions serve as a bridge between the past and the present, they can also result in mass tourism. As those places are often exclusive and informative, they are more likely to become captivating tourist attractions. Representing a tangible evidence for hope and peace, the Atomic Bomb Dome appeals hundreds of thousands of visitors every year while it has no exceptional appearance as compared to modern buildings. Historical destinations can therefore generate an enormous amount of revenue for a country and also boost correlated service industries such as hotels and banking. It is an irrefutable fact that a country would thrive well on such old-fashion yet unique buildings.

In conclusion, I firmly believe preserving historic sites is vital to patriotism promotion and economic prosperity Crystal-clear policies should be established and enacted for the protection of those important buildings.