Many people believe that the increased presence of violence in films and television these days is responsible for the rising incidents of violent crimes among youths in society. They argue that governments have a duty to control the media so as to reduce this phenomenon.

Do you agree with this argument?

The surging of youth crimes these days are believed to be started from the violence in movies and TV. Some people claim that governments have to control the appearance of thrilling scenes so as to reduce this phenomenon. I am strongly convinced by this opinion. Throughout the essay, I will clarify the statement and give my own examples.

Kids nowadays spend too much time using TV and other electronic devices. They might watch movies that have rating different from PG. Parents cannot always in charge of banning them from seeing what kinds of shows and thus, children have chances to watch and mimic actions from the films. Moreover, at the age of fifteen or sixteen, teenagers tend to copy movements and conversations from their favorite TV shows and video games. Many of them contain violence and killing scenes and as a result, adolescents may learn from these and apply them to the real world. In video games and TV shows, characters have many ‘lives’ and they cannot be killed easily, but in the reality, we have only life to live, we cannot get a headshot and revive normally without any side-effects.

Authorities should give more attention to this problem. If the governments cut down thrilling scenes, people will not watch it and therefore, the rate of juvenile delinquency will be lulled down. Parental guidance is also a great solution to decelerate the rate of young criminals. Parents should spend times talking to their children about school work or personal life as teenagers are the age where they are really rebellious and they can do anything sounds foolishly.

All things considered, I still hold my view about the given solution. Governments should take care more about scenes on films to alleviate the crime rate at early ages.