Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The issue raised in the question is a bone of contention on which suggestions may vary. Among those points, arise the idea that upgrading and adding more sports equipment. Diametrically opposed to that, some people put forward the view that authorities should make more maneuvers to fully tackle the problem. Although both sides may present equally valid arguments to support themselves, the latter’s opinion is more appealing to me.

Taking up sports can reduce much stress from work and academic pursuits. Since exercises produce a hormone named endorphin, which is a natural painkiller, the stress level can dwindle immediately, thanks to the unique function of the chemical. Another supporting objective that can be listed out is that the life expectancy of people who take up sports daily is astonishingly increased. For example, swimming can curtail the amount of fat and control the blood flow inside our bodies. Swimmers can also gain durability and flexibility through the synchronous movements of limbs to create the swimming motions. In my opinion, although these views can be seen as the actual solution of the problem, they are only one-sided, as many sports can only be taken up by wealthy people or members of privileged classes.

Granted, there are two measurements that can be taken up to solve the thorny issue. First of all, public health can be ameliorated through public propaganda and education. Cite one example, ‘the disease of a century’ AIDS can be avoided by people who are well educated. If people use protection during sex, STDs can be easily avoidable. Secondly, governments should levy taxes on junk food as fast food is the main reason leading to obesity at an early age. Only when we increase the price of fried food, people can buy them less and less.

In a nutshell, lessening public diseases is a hard problem to entirely solve owing to the fact that there are classes of people in the society. In my opinion, the package of measurements which mentioned above can be the key to solve the nuisance.