Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Over the last century, there has been a breakthrough in mode of transportation, from the cars of Benz to the four-second flying plane of the Wrights brothers. Granted, trains and other engine-based vehicle have been considered the most popular kinds of conveyance. Some ideas have been raised whether or not upgrading railways instead of roads. For me, I am strongly inclined that budget should be well-allocated for both railroad and roadway.

The first argument which lean support to my idea is that, private cars play an inevitable role in our daily life. They are considered to be the easiest and most convenient form of transportation. Driving is the ideal solution for short travel which we cannot use trains. Moreover, roads are everywhere and infrastructures are constantly improving. We can easily drive to anywhere we want, from near places like restaurants or hospital to further destinations such as beaches or historic relics. Consequently, authorities allocate budget for maintaining streets will increase the road safety as well as decelerate traffic congestion. Talking about the enhancement of highway systems, we cannot ignore the success of Autobahn in Germany. Autobahn is the net of freeway ran all over the country. This kind of road let drivers speed up to 120 km/h. Easily connect cities to cities.

On the other hand, the expansion of railway helps companies to ship their products to the countryside more quickly. Another opinion is that, using electric train, commonly known as subway, tram or bullet train, can help in reducing exhaust fumes and fossil fuels usage. Furthermore, traveling by trains cause no traffic jam at all, just pay for the tickets, jump on and then get to your location. Thus, traveling by train is way too faster than driving. For instance, the system of bullet train called TGV in France can reach up to 320 km/h, making the travel faster and more comfortable.

All things considered, either traveling by trains or driving should be allocated budget by the governments. Throughout my two examples of two different countries with a leap in traffic technology, I strongly believe that other nations should learn from the predecessors and invest in the development of their traffic system to lull traffic accidents.