Many people believe that it is important to always tell the truth. In your opinion, is it ever acceptable to tell a lie?

Explain your answer giving reasons and specific examples.

While many people claim that telling the truth is a positive action, others assert that truth is always bitter so there are cases in which the truth should be untold. From my point of view, I completely agree with the second opinion for several reasons which will be discussed below.

First of all, sometimes, being too honest and straightforward can be considered as impolite and cause conflicts in a relationship; therefore, a white lie is necessary for this circumstance. A well-meaning lie is told to smooth out an awkward social situation and avoid hurting other's feelings as well as protecting fragile egos. For instance, when a friend got a new haircut, or when our moms cook for us, and they asked for our opinion, it is definitely better to compliment them even if we highly dislike the haircut or the dish than telling the harsh reality and break their hearts.

Secondly, there are lies told for the purpose of benefiting others without harming anyone. These called kind-hearted lies, a lie with the good intention behind it. To illustrate, it is a common practice as the parents tell small lies to their children about how babies were born or about the existence of Santa Claus in order to protect their innocence and happiness. At the end of the day, it does not harm the kids as long as the parents let them know the truth when they are ready.

In conclusion, although people are taught at a young age that dishonesty is a bad thing, I believe that there are exceptions when lying might be a better move than telling the truth.