compare and contrast working from home and working at office

Will work from home become a new norm post-pandemic? These days, the COVID-19 pandemic has brought a need for social distancing with it, and a historic worldwide work-from-home experiment as a result. Having time to evaluate their opinion of home working, employees are split on whether they’d rather work at home or in an office. One of the reasons is that there are many differences between a home-based job and an office-based job, the most notable of which are the commute, the work schedule, and the way employees communicate with others.

One of the major differences between a home-based job and an office-based job is the commute. Working from home means there is no commuting back and forth from work, there is no hurry in the morning to get ready and out the door by a certain time because the distance we have to travel is roughly the length of our living space. Instead of wasting time in traffic congestion, being unproductive, and on high alert during the whole commute journey, people can spend the extra time saved here for work tasks, for personal care and family. Meanwhile, for office workers, a morning routine can be a hassle due to the dreaded daily commute. According to Numbeo, the average daily commute for workers in Vietnam is 29.85 minutes, and in total, it takes us more than an hour there and back. Employees have to show up at 8:00 AM after suffering from heavy traffic under Vietnam’s hot and humid weather, only to then get stuck in a traffic jam for 30-60 minutes when coming back home.

Moreover, these two also differ in regard to the work schedule: home working offers flexible working hours, whereas office job offers a set schedule. A work from home policy allows employees to adjust the days and hours of work according to their preferences. It provides us with the absolute flexibility of choosing to work in our peak productivity hours and to take a break when energy levels are low. On the negative side, it may lead to difficulty in keeping work and home life separate. In contrast, office work demands alignment. The 9-to-5 work schedule has been the norm for many workplaces, despite the fact that some people might not be effective at all then. On the bright side, there’s a definitive start and stop time.

Another significant distinction is our ways of communication/how we communicate with each other. While face-to-face interaction and email are the most commonly and frequently used modes of workplace communication, tech tools and virtual conference platforms such as Zoom, Microsoft Teams, Slack, etc. are essential for a distributed team to maintain communication. The advancement in digital technology within the last decade have greatly expanded our ability to telecommute and keep in touch with others without having to be physically present in the office. However, no matter how fast people respond to messages on Whatsapp or Slack, it is always more convenient to get things done when the person we need is in front of us. Even video calls, for one, aren't like being face-to-face in an actual office. In real-life conversation, we use not only words, but also a gazillion micro expressions as well as other non-verbal cues, and a lot of this is lost online.

In conclusion, working from home and working in an office is different in many ways namely commuting, working hours, and modes of communication. Depending on each individual’s needs and personality, one might prefer one working style to another and decide which might work best for them.