Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children.

To what extent do you agree?

Majority of the people are of the opinion that broadcasting celebrities influences the young ones negatively. I strongly agree that broadcasting famous people have harmful effects on the underage because it exposes them to inappropriate lifestyle, it also affects their academic performance adversely.

To begin, broadcasting celebrities exposes children to inappropriate lifestyle. It is an absolute fact that the artist sometimes display implausible and debase way of life on the television, radio and the internet in order to become more famous and to gain more followers. This preposterous manner of life could be exhibited through immorality, drug abuse and materialistic pursuits. Admittedly, a great deal of youths keep up with the programs that feature these celebrities thus imitating their way of life, consequently, mental disorders from substance abuse ensued. For example, a research conducted by a federal neuropsychiatry hospital in west Africa estimated that in 2015, children who suffered from substance abuse admitted that they first learnt such habit from their favourite artist.

Furthermore, media coverage of celebrities affect the academic performance of children. It is crucial to note that most pupils and students assign more time for famous people's news while others follow their instagram pages and websites for latest updates,

as a result, they abandon their curricular activities. For example, a research carried out by one educational institution in New York revealed that student and pupils who performed below average in their assessment test and examination were fans of popular celebrities in the world.

To conclude, it is a fact that most people agree that broadcasting famous artist have negative influence on children, however, I affirm that the above stated assertion is true because it exposes children to absurd way of life and affect their academic performance negatively.