Many people believe that modern music can have a negative impact on the young. Others believe the effect of modern music is positive. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

People have sparked a heated controversy over the influences of contemporary music genres on the youth. While its opponents highlight the drawbacks, I believe that music offers more remarkable benefits.

On the one hand, it is widely acknowledged that works of music exerts a number of negative impacts on adolescents. To begin with, songs with offensive lyrics, which incite hostility or distribute pornography, are witnessed to become widespread recently. The implication for this is that an exposure to such contents may shape the youth’s patterns of behavior, leading to a deviation in their lifestyle and threatening social orders. Secondly, another downside stems from their rhythms and melodies. In fact, as revealed by recent studies, listening to certain chords increases the willingness of harming themselves among young generations, reflected by more residents committing a suicide.

On the other hand, despite the aforementioned disadvantages, it seems to me that they are overwhelmed by the advantages. The initial reason is that most countries always implement censorships to eliminate any violation, so the majority of works in music industry are morally and aesthetically acceptable. If the youth are educated to sense their connotative meaning, these songs or instrumental music can provide them with a deep insight about the world and humanity, thanks to which images they invoke. In addition, besides social development, music has also been proven to support their intellectual development. For example, in an observation in 2004, not until British students listened to masterpieces of composers like Mozart or Beethoven did their performance in IQ tests improve, which can be explained by an enhancement of neural connection in their brains.

In conclusion, although the demerits of music are conspicuous, I argue that it results in more significant effects on the youth.