Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is undoubted that scientific research plays an important role in human development. While some people think it is better for the government to take the responsibility of conducting and mastering them, I am personally convinced that to make continuous progress, it requires efforts from both the government and private companies.

On the one hand, the government has the obligation to take the charge of scientific research, because it is the administrator of the country. Scientific researches often require long-term efforts and large investments. Therefore, it is the government instead of private companies that has the power and resource to support them. Moreover, other supportive measures can also be taken by governments, such as giving additional welfare to researchers, thus attracting more talents and experts to participate in the projects.

On the other hand, there will also be advantages if private companies take a part. It is notable that some companies develop and sell their own products for their own profits, so there is a need for them to conduct some scientific researches. Pharmaceutical companies is a typical example -- it is hard for them to run and make profits without a private laboratory. If these companies are encouraged to conduct scientific researches according to their own needs, the market will certainly remain competitive and dynamic, which is both economically and scientifically beneficial.

In conclusion, for the sake of a long-term development, I think both the government and private companies should be involved in scientific researches. The resources and power of the government is the driving force, while the participation of private companies can keep the market competitive, thus promoting the progress.