Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Face book) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

A few people generally opine that some social networking sites for example face book, have had adverse (detrimental, injurious, severe) effect on individuals as well as society. Many others believe advantages of such communicative sites outweigh its disadvantages. Although such sites have had damaging effects yet I personally believe that social networking sites are mainly beneficial to local communities.

Firstly, by availability of immense features in face book and other messengers these days, it has become possible to get rid of awkward feelings such as homesickness and loneliness for those, who leave their homes cities and countries for specific reasons. It seemed to be so hard to control emotional attachments after separating from family for majority of individuals a few years before.

Another supporting fact is that Communication through such sites is not only cheaper and convenient but also with availability of some advanced features as, video calling and social groups, people of all age groups stay connected with each other. By sharing current events through such amazing sites, all come to know about current happenings and important news of the day instantly without wasting time on watching mass media.

However, some negative effects on the communities of such communications cannot be denied. A number of illegal and unacceptable posts are often seen on face book which sometimes seriously hurt the faith and sentiments of a particular group of society. Furthermore, some innocent and new users on such sites are often betrayed by others because of lack of physical appearance while conversations.

At last, though some limitations in social networking sites exist, they have brought individuals close together. Local communities should try to control its misuse in order to promote its prominent advantages