Many people believe that teachers should take responsibilities for their students to judge what is right or wrong and behave well, while other feel that teachers should only teach academic subjects. Discuss both view and give your own opinion.

People have different views about the responsibility of teachers for student’s behaviours. While some individuals opine teachers should merely focus on academic subjects, I have a conviction that they should concern both the academic performances and conduct of their students.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why teachers should only shoulder responsibility for academic subjects. Firstly, parents play a more important role in nurturing their kids’ personality. As they can understand their offspring well; therefore, the children can be better educated to recognize moral values by their parents. Secondly, that teachers focusing on academic perspectives can also contribute to a good development of their students The first noticeable positive associated with academic and professional subjects is that they would help establish beneficial skills for the long-term development of learners. Math and science sharpen problem-solving skills, logical thinking and analytical capability whereas literature assists in communication and interpersonal skills, and all these prove essential qualities in our lives.

On the other hand, I side with those who believe that teachers also should be in charge of whether the students misbehave or not. Primarily, parents are more and more engaged with their work, so they have a tendency to pay little attention to their children’s conduct. In that case, instead of turning a blind to unacceptable behaviours of their students, the teachers can act as their parents’ role to rectify the misconduct of students so that they can be nurtured wholly in both cerebral and academic ability. For example, teachers can inform the student of moral principles, enforce the school’s code of conduct and motivate students to become ethical individuals.

In conclusion, it seems to me that teachers play a vital role in raising the academic performance and ethical misbehaviour of their students.