Some people think that criminals should be given longer terms in prison, so as to reduce the crime rate. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that in order to cut down on the delinquency rate, offenders should be sentenced to longer imprisonment. I completely disagree with this view, because I consider that doing that does not ensure a crime reduction but it can backfire and create negative impacts on imprisoners and society.

On the one hand, putting criminals in jail longer can expose some unfavourable influences on both convicts and society. Firstly, the offenders can embark a sense of inequality and discontent on the judicial system, because they are not given an appropriate punishment to the seriousness of their crime. it can even encourage revenge when people are discharged from prison. Secondly, the opportunities to rehabilitate ex-offenders become lessened. For instance, when applying for a manual job, they are inclined to be refused, which is because of not only their criminal record but also their age-related decrease in physical strength. Finally, the cost of imprisonment allocated by the government budget will extravagantly escalate. The expense of providing the criminals with food, vocational training or community service activities will go up as their custodial sentence is extended.

On the other hand, the lengthened criminal detention in prison cannot ensure a crime reduction in society. Locking people up for longer can severely server their positive ties with the law-abiding community, namely their job or social relationships. Thus, they are inclined to fall back into to cycle of offending, which ultimately result in an increase in the crime rate. In fact, there are other effective ways in radically reducing crime rather than extended prison sentences. Take the Netherlands, the country that succeeded in lowering their crime rate by showing their favour of tolerance over punishment, as an example. Besides providing prisoners with psychological treatment and educational training, they are applying milder sentencing tariffs, including a maximum sentence of six years for domestic burglary to maximize rehabilitating prospects for convicts when they are released.

In conclusion, the longer jail sentence to obtain a crime reduction cannot be assured, and it can even result in adverse influences on both criminals and the communities.