Many people choose to travel abroad to learn a foreign language instead of studying in their home town. Do the advantages of learning a new language in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

There are numerous people who agree that coming abroad is the best method to study a new language. We can not be denied huge benefits which the method might bring, besides some drawbacks that we can encounter.

On the one hand, traveling not only can widen our horizon in terms of culture, history, education, and other things similar to that but also help us have a better environment to practice speaking skill with native accents and intonations, and standard pronunciations. In addition, we can get more opportunities to communicate with different local individuals and to become more and more familiar with native some slang which native people tend to use more. It is a truth that the more we practice, the more we can communicate fluently with a non mother tongue language.

On the other hand, if we select the method to learn a foreign language, we will have to prepare many things such as money, passport, visa, … . In Particular, we need to have a strong and optimistic spirit that can deal with surprising and dangerous situations in a strange place without any support from relatives and friends. It can take a huge amount of money to book tickets and rooms to stay which is not necessary if you are in your hometown. Moreover, if we unfortunately have any health problems and we have no medical insurance, it is so hard to be taken care of and treated.

To summarize, studying a foreign language via traveling abroad can bring for us both benefits and disadvantages.