Many people continue to smoke, despite the well-known health risks. Why do people smoke, and how can the amount of smoking be reduced?

Outside my school, there are cigarette butts strewn all over the place, as well as a tobacco odor lingering in the air. There are many serious health effects to smoking, yet the number of smokers has grown immensely. Here, I will discuss the main cause of it, respectively, along with possible solutions.

One reason is peer pressure, which has an influence throughout our whole life. Many smokers try their first cigarette during adolescence- where they value other opinions more, as they think it is trendy or do not want to feel left out. However, their first attempt oftentimes is not their last, and alters into an addictive habit that is difficult to break.

One suggestion to reduce smoking is to impose a higher tax on all tobacco products, including vapes and cigars. By increasing the prices, would dissuade teens from purchasing these goods, as well as having a toll on cigarette manufacturers, since their demand for the products have declined.

Another solution is to promote cessation, by inviting medical professionals to educational institutions, such as primary and high school. For their presentation, they could show specific images such as before and after ones, for example a healthy lung and another of long-term smoking , also emphasizing the possible risk factors related to cardiovascular disease, stroke and lung cancer. By increasing one’s knowledge, could pose as a warning as well as a possible prevention.

To conclude, every smokers know how to quit, but unfortunately, a majority of them don’t have the determination and willpower to do it.