many people disagree with a school policy which forces children to learn new languages.

It is sometimes argued that foreign languages should be included in the school curriculum as a compulsory subject. While I agree that there are certain drawbacks associated with this policy, I would argue that it is necessary for schoolchildren to study a new language.

On the one hand, there are several drawbacks involved in forcing students to study foreign languages. Firstly, many students do not have the aptitude for languages, which leaves the majority of them unable to develop an autonomous language learning. Therefore, they are more likely to fall behind their studies and disturbed by unnecessary stresses. Secondly, students often want to focus on their favorite subjects rather than languages which they think they will never use. This is particularly the case in gifted high schools, where students have to put more resources into their specialised subjects than in French or Chinese.

On the other hand, learning a foreign language is important for schoolchildren. One reason is that it can assist students in their studies when they take the advantage of the internet, which provides a considerable amount of fruitful and reliable information written in new languages, as a way to broaden their knowledge. In this case, the proficiency in the foreign languages help them to assimilate knowledge and gain an insight into the subjects efficiently in order to pass the exams with flying colors. Another reason is that foreign languages can also brighten schoolchildren’ career paths later in life. With labour market becoming more competitive, a good command of foreign languages can give them a competitive edge. This is true for those who apply for a job in international companies, where staffs need to communicate with customers coming from various parts of the world on a regular basic.

In conclusion, while there are some reasons to believe that schools should not incorporate new languages into the curriculum, I still believe that foreign languages play an important role in children’ life.