Many people go to the university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extend do you agree or disagree ?

Nowadays, many people have access to higher education in the university, while there is a shortage of manual workers such as electricians and plumbers. In my opinion, I totally agree that we should encourage more people to do vocational training to reach a balance in the labour market.

there are some reasons why people have access to tertiary education. first, since a variety of jobs requires a great deal of special knowledge, graduates have to follow academic courses to pursue their careers. For example, doctors, who have to experience a 7-year-course, leading them have a full grasp of knowledge to save human lives. second, by learning academic courses, graduates have chances to continue their higher education. this means that they are armed with fundamental knowledge to do research or study, which opens avenue for more human innovations and developments down the road.

Nevertheless, people should be encouraged to do more vocational trainings in lieu of solving a lack of qualified workers, such as electricians and plumbers. first, since vocational courses do not focus too much on theories but provide students a huge amount of practical knowledge, which lead to graduates can be easy to have a job after graduating. In fact, for some jobs, students can instantly put these knowledge into practice, helping them earn a living thanks to these trainings. second, if students have access to academic courses, they can be unemployed in the future. this means that in some countries, such as Japan, they are facing with the shortage of manual jobs because of the aging-population, resulting in academic graduates cannot compete with qualified workers in the labour market. Besides, workshops in schools and advice from parents can help students to choose vocational careers by explaining the good employment prospects and remuneration for manual workers with qualifications and skills.

In conclusion, following academic courses is not an ultimate way, especially we are in an imbalance of the labour market. By considering all pros and cons, students can find best solutions for their careers.