Many people go to university for academic study More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers To what extent do youagree or disagree

It is true that more people are pursuing academic study than vocational training course. I agree that higher education is necessary, but I also do believe that vocational training should be paid more attention to.

On the one hand, academic study plays an important role in the modern life. It provides knowledge and broaden student’s horizon. Studying at the university means that they will have a deeper understanding about the fields they pursue. Being equipped with knowledge, students could have better job opportunities. As the modern economy is becoming increasingly knowledge-based, the demands for skilled workers have increased significantly, especially in technology and engineering sectors. Repetitive works now can easily be done by machines; therefore, many industries require specific knowledge from employees.

On the other hand, I do believe that studying vocational training is advantageous to some extent. Even though, many jobs are replaced by machine, there is always a demand for manual workers. In some industries, practical skills are more important than academic skills. There are many jobs that do not require university degrees, for example, electricians and plumbers. Due to the lack of qualified workers in these sectors, the service cost is becoming more and more expensive which makes these jobs more desirable to make a living.

In conclusion, it seems to me that both academic study and vocational training are necessary for the modern life.