Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

it is argued that many people prefer to pursue academic training at university rather than take part in vocational training courses. While I accept that academic training plays an important role in social development, I still believe that more people should be persuaded to become skillful employees due to the shortage of this workforce.

On the one hand, there are two main reasons why people choose to enroll in tertiary education after school graduation. Firstly, it is reasonable that students will have more opportunities to gain a well-paid job when they own in-depth knowledge and crucial skills in their specific field. Mainly because employers often want to have highly qualified staff to promote workplace productivity. Secondly, experts are key factors for social development because the specialized fields require innovation over time which is only generated by scholars through higher education. For instance, inventing a vaccine to cure Coronavirus disease would be impossible if originators never studied in educational institutions.

On the other hand, apart from the statement expressed above, I believe that more trained manual workers such as electricians, plumbers, and so on are required. First, these employees are irreplaceable when new buildings are constructed or existing buildings need to renovate or maintain. Indeed, there is a numerous number of tradesmen working in the building such as hospitals, and schools … day by day to ensure the safety of all people. In addition, people would save their educational time and have less competition for seeking jobs when they complete vocational courses. Instead of at least 4 years in university, students must spend only about 6 months to become skilled workers and find out blue-collar jobs more easily due to the shortage of manual employees.

In conclusion, for the reason I mentioned above, I reaffirm that university academic courses and vocational training are both important, and choosing types of education depends on people’s ability, and social demands.