Many people in the music business feel that illegal music sites on the internet are a serious threat to the industry and more should be done to prevent them from operating. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

It is considered by many in the market that online music piracy threatens the life of music industry and needs to be mitigated. While I agree with this notion as it steals royalties from the artist and kills creativity in the long run.

Music piracy mostly leads to artist royalty loss, discouraging future talents from producing high-quality music. Simply put, youngsters do not consider being a musician a promising job due to the unstable payment received given to piracy issues. According to the journal published by Yale in 2019 reveals that 80% of music department students do not consider being a musician as their source of income due to the results that show 20% of the US singers received 50% fewer royalties for the past decade due to the emerging of online piracy. Thus, royalty loss leads to decreasing future musician talents.

Decreasing creativity levels among musicians happen due to piracy issues, deteriorating the public’s interest in music. As the piracy rate increases, musicians feel underappreciated, which causes a low quality of work. For instance, a survey conducted by the Indonesia Ministry of economic creative reveals a plummet in local music’s online purchases in 2019. One of the reasons was the shifting of people’s interest from local music to western music as they consider the latter has better quality. After being investigated, local online music piracy jumped by more than double in the last decade in Indonesia, and 3/5 of local musicians felt underappreciated. Hence, piracy discourages local musicians from producing good quality music.

To conclude, royalty loss and creativity shortage are the two significant impacts of online music piracy. It is agreed that this should be soon mitigated as being a menace to the sustainability of the industry. Hence, creating robust law enforcement is necessary.