Reading books keeps a person’s mind active, whereas watching films and television is passive and does not require a person to use their imagination.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

it is often argued that hobbies like reading books enhance the imaginative and linguistic skills of individuals in a better way than watching television alone. while television is a very important medium for learning and entertainment, I strongly agree that regular reading habits help in developing language skills and imaginative power even more.

These days the television has its presence in almost every household and is running a plethora of programs and series ranging from news, documentaries, drama to movies round the clock which are easily accessible and at the same time informative as well. this has led to a decrease in the number of people who are really interested in reading books. even then I believe individuals who have a liking for reading are at an advantage. Firstly reading gives a better understanding of the language with grammatical accuracy and range. For example, many aspirants in y country India read the daily newspaper "The Hindu" as it has a great way of presentation with many enlightening articles and columns by eminent journalists.

Furthermore, the habit of reading regularly relaxes your mind and helps you develop your own imagination and fantasies. For instance, while reading a novel the author tries to create a common background and plot, however, it is the person's own perception and creativity which forms a visual image from the reading, and this is absolutely subjective, that it varies for every individual.

To sum up, while television is an indispensable medium for information and entertainment, I agree that avid readers develop a better understanding of language and have increased imaginative capacity.