Many people say that universities should only offer places to young students with the highest marks, while others say they should accept people of all ages, even if they did not do well at school. Discuss both view and give your own opinion.

A school of thought holds that only young students with top performances deserved places at universities, whereas others claim that tertiary education is for all people, irrespective of their ages and performances at school. While the former view is valid to a certain extent, I would support the latter view as age and academic results may fail to reflect a person's intellectual potential.

The advocacy of universities offering sole places to elite young students is justifiable. The rationale is that they have to be dilligent in their studies to get top marks for overall academic performance, and hence the ability to perform well at universities and good career prospects. In addition, their young ages may offer them good acquisition of knowledge compared to their old counterpart. Thus, it seems sensible that they have privileges over those who are older and have lesser achievements. However, this thinking is flawed, as there is still some unfairness in this evaluation regime. For example, in Vietnam, it is prevalent that many parents bribed teachers and authorities to raise their children's marks and create fake achievements.

To restrain the aforementioned phenomenon stemmed from overestimation of students' marks, universities should accept people of all ages, even if they fail to do well at school. At all ages, everyone can still perform well at universities if they apply themselves to their studies. In Vietnam, a student named Kien have dropped out for 3 years since 2017, though, he still passed the national university entrance exam with the highest score in Vietnam by revising hard again for 1 year. In addition, those who have poor performance at high school may have underprivileged backgrounds, and thus they temporarily cannot focus on their high school education. Therefore, it is unfair to abandon the chances of these examples mentioned above.

In conclusion, while there are reasons for prioritize students with top marks, I think universities should accept everyone if they aspire to higher education.