Many people say that universities should only offer places to young students with the highest

marks, while others say they should accept people of all ages, even if they did not do well at

school. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is believed that universities should only recruit students with the highest academic performance, while others say that every student, regardless of their age and academic ability should be given equal educational opportunities. I will discuss both views and state my opinion in the following essay.

On the one hand, students with the highest marks completely deserve to be accepted to win a place in universities. Firstly, in high school, they also spent a huge of time studying, reaching new heights of knowledge, and making a great effort to get excellent scores compared to other students, which can somehow prove that these students are hard-working and persevering people. Secondly, this is to ensure that university graduates are well educated in a knowledge-based society and provided an interactive environment to sharpen their critical thinking skills, which are fundamental to the development of analytic reasoning. As a result, these students can find work easily after an internship and have many opportunities for moving up the career ladder in the future.

On the other hand, I believe that people of all ages should have equal chances to apply for university via other assessment platforms. Firstly, ages do not reflect a person’s intellectual potential. For instance, people of higher age have gained a lot of practical experiences and life skills, so they can approach the expertise more effectively. Secondly, academic results are not the only measurement of intelligence and should not be considered the only factor that determines a person's opportunity to pursue tertiary education. Universities should adopt policies to organize some talent and creative contests to evaluate students who had lower marks.

In conclusion, I argue that both students with excellent academic transcripts and people of all ages who are good at some kinds of other fields have equal opportunities to get into university.