Many people say that we now live in a consumer society where money and possessions are given too much importance. Others believe that consumer culture has played a vital role in improving our lives. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays many may hold the view that there are numerous problems in society because people are paying excessive attention to money and personal belongings. At the same time, however, there is a body of opinion which claims that such money-oriented trend may be of great significance to the improvement of people’s lives. In this essay I will examine both sides of the debate and provide my own opinion.

To begin with, since people excessively focus on money, the relationship between family members is undermined. In order to earn more incomes workers may be busy with work but spare little time to stay with their wives and children, thus reducing the communication of each other. In addition, the addiction to personal items makes people become materialistic for they may not be willing to engage in mental activities, such as learning literature, which will harm the overall development of a society.

On the other hand, there is no doubt that money can help meet people’s daily needs, as with money the owners can purchase whatever they want including cars, houses and domestic appliances. Also, money can enrich people’s lives, allowing them to travel around the world to see different kinds of things. Furthermore, consumer culture may create a large number of job vacancies since in order to satisfy the greater demand for products manufacturers have to recruit more workers.

To summarize, there is no denying that spiritual lives may be negatively affected when people are paying too close attention to money and possessions. At the same time, however, people’s living standards can be improved when they live in the consumer environment. In the final analysis, therefore, one can only conclude that people should live a balanced life with money and possessions and other mental activities combined.