Many people think that every individual is responsible for their own healthy lifestyle. Others
believe that governments should take care of it.
There is little doubt about how vital it is for people to adopt a healthy lifestyle, but there
are conflicting views as to who should be responsible for its promotion and enforcement.
Although some believe that the government should shoulder this responsibility, others,
myself included, think it should be every individual’s duty.
People themselves benefit primarily in their personal lives from eating healthily and taking
more exercise. it allows them to remain healthy, avoid different illnesses like heart disease
and arthritis, and enjoy increased longevity. living healthily also allows them to be more
active in the society and at work because they are more likely to feel energised and
refreshed throughout the day. Consequently, they can focus more on their social and
professional efforts, which could significantly increase their social and work status.
Therefore, it seems logical to hold every individual responsible for adopting a healthy
lifestyle.
Some argue that governments should enforce a healthy lifestyle because they have the
means to raise awareness through the educational system and introduce relevant
regulations obliging their citizens to make the necessary changes in their way of life.
However, most adults tend to change and adjust their lifestyle according to their
experiences and desires after leaving school, forgetting most, if not all, of what they have
been taught. Furthermore, it would be unwise for authorities to meddle in people’s private
lives and have them conform to any regulation that affect their personal lives.
In conclusion, I believe that individuals ought to bear the responsibility of following and
promoting a healthy way of life since they can enjoy the benefits in their personal, social
and work lives.