Many people think the fast food companies should not be allowed to advertise while others believe that all companies should have the right to advertise. What is your opinion?

In this day and age, the debate on the advertising of processed food corporations has received substantial public attention. Some reckon that these firms ought to be permitted to show the advertisements whilst some individuals are of the reverse opinion. From my perspective, advertising junk food ought to be barred due to the following reasons.

To commence with, prohibiting fast food companies to exhibit promotions is a plausible remedy for citizens to ensure proper health. A prime instance is that in 2015, the Chilean government imposed a set of laws on enhancing the populace’s physical condition, including forbidding firms to advertise beverages and pre-made food. Consequently, the next five-year timeframe observed a considerable downturn from 63% to 40% in the proportion of the corpulent population. If it had not been for this action, the citizens would have been driven by these commercials to purchase and consume ready meals, which deteriorates their health.

Moreover, it is inessential that processed food corporations lavish a plethora of budget on the advertising industry, which can be invested in other respects in need. An annual report in 2020 of Kentucky Fried Chicken, an American fast food company, revealed that the expenditure on promotions was $10.000 per restaurant, doubling the amount of money spent on raw materials and ingredients. Had these advertising costs been utilized for ingredient expenses, the dishes would have been more reliable and appetizing, which might be favorable to consumers rather than marketing campaigns. Accordingly, junk food firms had better not be authorized to promote.

Given these aforementioned points, I hold a firm belief that prohibition on fast food promotions should be introduced in light of developing public health and owing to its waste of money.