Many people think that modern communication technology is having a negative effect on social relationships.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that modern communication technology negatively impacts on social relationships. In my perspective, I completely disagree with this statement for the following reason.(ok)

There are good reasons to say that modern communication technology negatively impacts social relationships. First of all, since people usually depend on communication technology, their relationships are likely to lessen. When they spend most of their spare time on social media to entertain or serve other purposes, their conversations can be decreased. Furthermore, modern communication technology may be not suitable for non-verbal communication like body language or facial expressions. As a result, people can not totally express the gestures and messages that they want to convey to others.

However, I strongly support the idea that modern communication technology has many benefits of social relationships. Chief of these, since modern communication technology is convenient that does not limit the distance, it can allow people to connect with other people around the world. For example, the use of communication technology which is easily accessible can help people to save money and time by making a video call instead of making a telephone call or face-to-face meeting. In addition, it can be thought that this technology can allow people to extend their social relationships. Since it has great accessibility, by using social media such as facebook, people can make friends and connect to them to become close.

In conclusion, while some people believe that modern communication technology has an adverse effect on social relationships, I contend that the use of communication technology for social relationships has a positive effect.