Many people think that modern communication technology is having a negative effect on social relationships.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that modern communication technology negatively impacts social impacts relationships. In my perspective, I completely disagree with this statement for the following reasons. First of all, since most people rely on communication technology, it is likely that relationships will suffer. Their conversations might suffer if they spend the majority of their free time on social media to pass the time or for other reasons. Furthermore, non-verbal communication like body language and facial expressions may not be appropriate for modern communication technology. People are unable to fully express the gestures and messages they want to send to others as a result. However, I strongly support the idea that modern communication technology brings many benefits of social connection. Chief of these, since modern communication technology is practical and does not have a distance restriction,it makes it possible for people to connect with others all over the world. For example, using readily available communication technology to make a video call rather than a phone call or in-person meeting can help people save money and time. In addition, it can be thought that this technology will enable people to extend their social networks . Since it is widely accessible, by using social media such as facebook, people can make friends and connect with them to become closer. In conclusion, while some people believe that modern communication technology has an adverse effect on social relationships, I contend that the use of communication technology for social relationships has a positive effect.