Many people think that museums and galleries should only show work from local artists rather than work from other countries. Do you agree?

Some people claim that work from local artists should be displayed at museums and galleries more instead of national works. Despite the benefits of this view, I believe it can have consequences in the process of cultural integration and development.

Those who agree with the view that government should only show work from regional artists consider it a good way to support the development of artistic value in their country. Moreover, only displaying native paintings can spread folk art to teenage, which leads to the youth in the present time having a passion for folk paintings and being conscious of preserving and developing them. However, limiting shows to only local artists’ work results in the audiences can feel bored and having few chances to approach the world art scene.

On the other hand, the opponents think that only showing local artwork can limit the opportunity to experience and discover foreign’s cultures. For example, some countries such as Korea, Japan, and China often held cultural fairs to show their culture, and artworks from their countries are one of them. Besides that, a national exhibition also promotes tourism development by attracting more native and international tourists.

In conclusion, although prioritizing local artwork can increase the creativity of the artists and enhance the value of the country's art, the balance between showing both local and national artworks can bring more benefits.