Many people use distance-learning progammes (study material, post, TV, the Internet, etc.) to study at home, but some people think that it cannot bring the same benefits of attending college or unversity. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the efficiency of distance education. However, whether the school maintains the traditional learning method or carries out this new reform in education has cause heated debate. My view is that self-study should be encouraged and even become more widely adopted for the following reasons.

First, It is obviously that self-educated course motivates the learners to think critically and independently. Because they themselves have to look for the study materials from a huge teaching resources and then check whether the documents found are right and needed. Thereby, students could have a general knowledge and deeply understand about information. Besides, the autodidacts could save time traveling around and thus avoid meeting with unexpected accidents.

In addition, as the fast-paced development of the internet, the term “Online learning” has emerged and then quickly received a lot of attention and positive feedback from parents, students, and those working in the educational field. Dekiru - a website for learning Japanese is a good case in point. The educational system of this website is organized professionally. There’s a list of Japanese courses corresponding to different levels from basic to advanced. In each course, there are lesson-related videos, documents and exercises for learners to practice after finishing the theoretical part. All you need is just a device that be able to get access to the Internet.

That is not to say that class attendance is not necessary, it is an important part of the academic process and should be considered both a privilege and a responsibility. In term of service providers, however, schools should give top priority to meet their customers’ real needs and due to all the advantages of self-education below, it’s worth to take into consideration.

In conclusion, distance education could partly replace the traditional education, provide enough information, reduce the inconvenience and thus return a positive result in education. Meanwhile, we should not ignore the class attendance’s effects. Only by doing so can we make progress in learning."