Many people use distance-learning progammes (study material, post, TV, the Internet, etc.) to study at home, but some people think that it cannot bring the same benefits of attending college or unversity. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the efficiency of distance education. However, whether the school should maintain the traditional learning method or carry out this new reform in education has cause heated debate. My view is that self-study through remote learning should be encouraged and even become more widely adopted for the following reasons.

First, It is obvious that self-education course motivates the learners to think critically and independently. This is because they themselves have to look for the study materials from a large number of teaching resources and then check whether the documents found are right and needed. Thereby, students could have both a general knowledge and deeper understanding about the information. Besides,these students could save time traveling around and thus avoid meeting with unexpected accidents.

In addition, in the fast-paced development of the internet, the term “Online learning” emerged and quickly received a lot of attention and positive feedback from parents, students, and those working in the educational field. Dekiru - a website for learning Japanese is a good case in point. The educational system of this website is well organized and professionally designed. There’s a list of Japanese courses corresponding to different levels from basic to advanced. In each course, there are lesson-related videos, documents and exercises for learners to practice after finishing the theoretical part.

That is not to say that class attendance is not necessary; it is an important part of the academic process and should be considered both a privilege and a responsibility. As service providers, however, schools should give top priority to meet their customers’ real needs and due to all the advantages of self-education methods stated above, it’s worth taking into consideration providing these educational opportunities to students.

In conclusion, distance education could partly replace the traditional education format, provide extensive information, reduce the inconvenience of having to be someplace at a particular time and thus return a positive result in education. Meanwhile, we should not ignore the positive effects of attending class in person. Only by choosing amongst best of all educational modes can we make progress in learning.