Many people work from home using modern technology today. Some people think that only the workers benefit from this and not the employer. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Working from home is the new trend. Some individuals believe that it is more beneficial to employees than employers. In my opinion, it benefits both. While employees benefit from convenience, employers get to keep the costs of running the business down when their staff work from their home.

Some people might argue that when employees work from home, it is difficult for their employers to assess their performance. The traditional practices such as walking around to ensure everyone is working is useless in this case. However, in my opinion, this is hardly an issue. When people work from home, they will have specific targets to accomplish. Honestly, there is no need for any employer to supervise them. As long as they deliver the projects on time, the employer has no reason to suspect their efficiency or loyalty. Another advantage for the employer is that they can keep costs down. When people work from their home, employers do not have to invest in costly office space or equipment. Also, they can save a lot of money on utility bills. Some companies allow their employees to use their own device. This is even more advantageous for the employer if there are no security concerns to worry about. Another specific advantage of this arrangement is that employers can now hire talent from any part of the world.

Employees also benefit. They get to work flexible hours. They can save time and money as they do not have to commute to work. Work from home is particularly beneficial for people who have young children to take care of. In fact, this option has enabled a lot of young women to start working again after having babies. Many of them would have to stay out of the workforce, if they had to travel to office every day.

In conclusion, working from home benefits both the employer and the employee. While employees benefit from flexible working hours, employers get to hire talent from all over the world and save money on office rentals and utility bills.