The position of women has changed a great deal in many societies over the past 50 years. But these societies cannot claim to have achieved gender equality.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The position of women in human society nowadays has changed significantly. Compared to the past, women are always considered as housekeepers or babysitters. Men, on the other hand, are expected to be more successful in the universal value. However, if we take a careful look on the matter, we may still see more problems deep down inside.

It is obvious that we can see more women appear to take place some higher position in many fields, most of them can even do a better job than the men. With higher educations and greater capabilities, they truly have more powers and had been influencing in this world. Examples like the first female president in Germany who has been leading her country well for many years, and some big tech companies like Yahoo and Trend Micro are also leaded by a female CEO. These all are the evidences of improvement of gender equality.

However, if we dive in to the water more deeply, we may see there are still some problems exist. Despite there has been a huge improvement in recent decades, we can still see the lack of equality in the society. For instance, women usually get paid less than men even though they have similar works. Furthermore, in terms of employment, some employers prefer to hire males other than females just because women can be pregnant. A lot of these are still happening, and it is clear that we should put more efforts on the matter.

To conclude, though the gender equality in the our society is now quite better than the past, there is still a long distance for us to achieve the goal.