In many schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects and boys choose science subjects. What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

It is argued that girls prefer to arts subjects such as languages while boys attend science courses such as physics. This problem can be attributed to a whole host of reasons and it should be changed.

There are a number of reasons for this trend. First, since the choice of the subject reflects gender-specific personalities and competence. In fact, female students are usually attracted to subjects that require tremendous self-discipline and patience such as language courses while male students share a common interest in several fields that need considerable analytical abilities such as physics or math. Second, this trend may stem from students being influenced by social that each gender can only excel at certain subjects and not others. For example, in developing countries, female students often hesitate to follow science courses, as the idea of them pursuing a career as a scientist is not much appreciated.

Nevertheless, it is necessary to make changes to this trend. First, the decision to pursue art or science should be made according to student’s interests and not be influences by social pressure. In fact, if students are forced to join courses which they do not want to learn, their performances in studies would become poor. In addition, if students can choose their dream fields freely, they will put more effort to master it. Therefore, the misconception that the sciences are meant for boys while the arts are for girls should be dispelled so that students can find their true passion.

In conclusion, natural preferences and social stereotypes about each gender affect students’ subject choice. It is vital to shift this trend so that all students are entitled to the freedom to study those courses to which they aspire.