Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitors for cultural and historical attractions. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, the quetstion of tourists from overseas should be charged more than local residents for cultural and historical attractions has sparked a controversy. Although this suggestion appears reasonable, the disadvantages will be far more significant.

There are a number of reasons why high cost should not be imposed on local residents. First, since the decreased cost of visit places such as monuments or museums for foreign tourists will create an unfairness towards citizens. In fact, they may feel angry or irritated if knowing that their taxes are not spent on their benefits. Second, by charging an extra fee, the owners of cultural and historical attractions can take advantage of the money to improve the quality of services such as brochures and tourist guides. This means that overseas visitors may feel more satisfied.

On the other hand, this can do more harm than good. First, by spending on wide range of goods and services, including food; souvenirs and accommodation, foreign visitors have contributed to the economy of the host country. The governments and inhabitants of every country should be happy to subsidise important tourist sites. Second, if travellers realised that they would have to pay more to visit historical and cultural attractions in a particular nation, they would perhaps decide not to go to that country on holiday. This means that they would feel disrespectful and share negative comments for their relatives or friends, which make these countries suffer from an considerable decrease in its economy.

In conclusion, every effort should be made to attract tourists from overseas, and it would be counterproductive to make them pay more than local residents.