Some people believe the only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether the government should impose stricter punishments on driving offenses or not has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this suggestion is conducive to help people prevent accidents from traffic collisions, other measures should be taken into consideration.

There are several reasons why strict punishments are effective to enhance road safety. First, since the implementation of rules can change people’s attitudes toward violating laws. In other words, if a driver is punished when he breaks a road rule, he will be fear and avoid repeating the same offense. Also, the aim of these punishments is to show dangerous drivers that their actions have negative consequences. Therefore, they will become more disciplined and alert, and they follow the rules more carefully.

On the other hand, there are some different ways can encourage drivers to drive carefully that do not punish them. First, in order to properly improve road safety, the government needs to increase public awareness about the dangers of aggressive driving and other driving offenses. As a result, when everyone is fully aware of this, they would avoid committing driving offenses. Second, by investing in better public transport, governments or local councils could reduce road accidents. This means that fewer people would need to travel by car.

In conclusion, stricter punishment is not the only way to deal with driving offenses. Measures including raising awareness and promoting the use of public transport systems can also contribute to maintaining road safety.