In many schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (eg. languages) and boys choose science subjects (eg. Physics). What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

It is believed that males and female students at the university are likely to choose specific subjects to study because of their gender differences. For example, girls prefer to explore more art subjects such as languages or literature than their counterparts. This essay will discuss the main reasons for this practice and examine why such a tendency should be modified in details.

There are a couple of leading causes of this trend in college still. The most significant reason is the notion of binary division in gender: men and women fundamentally in every aspect of lives. Thus, this has also triggered a misleading stereotype in different specific subjects although every subject does not have the properties between feminine and masculine. Besides, although there is no evidence that men and women born with innate interests in various disciplines, many societies are inclined to force students to study some particular subjects in light of different genders while affected by influences of some cultures and customs.

However, this convention should be discouraged and altered immediately. Every human being has a right to educate themselves with their free will, so society needs to guarantee that regardless of genders, humans can have an equal opportunity to learn various subjects by considering their subject preferences. Aside from that, if many countries continue to accept this practice in the university, the social issue, gender inequality would be severe and to make matter worse, stereotyping and discrimination against gender might be exacerbated.

In conclusion, there are some distinctive reasons why still students tend to pursue studying particular subjects depending on their genders. However, as such a convention might lead to potential serious social problems such as gender inequality and deterring individuals' free will, consequently; it should disappear.