For many, shopping malls are great places to spend their leisure time and meet others. People, however, in the past mostly visited those when necessary.

To what extent do you think this is a negative trend?

In the modern society, quality of life has dramatically changed over decades. The perception of shopping has greatly evolved, as nowadays people tend to acquire retail therapy passing their time in commercial centers. Although, some people treat stores as the most multifunctional places where one can satisfy social and purchasing purposes, I do agree that such a tremendous change isn’t worth it.

On the one hand, shopping has become preferable over other types of leisure activities and hobbies as it is considered to be the way of rewarding themselves for hard working. Shoppers aver they feel contented and relaxed when they window shop and acquire various goods. For instance, more and more people share their shopping experience as one of the vital points in their lives in social networks like Instagram, VK and so on. Hence, the crucial point is that buyers not only satisfy their ambitions but they improve the country’s economy.

On the other hand, spending money or walking around supermarket involves less physical and mental activities and finally escalates person's negligence not only to their own health but also to imagination. Humans develop more and more materialistic values preferring brand names’ items to crafting. For example, even modern children favor to receive expensive goods from the market rather than hand-made present. Thus, the society is becoming more shopaholic spending their hard-earned money on purchasing unnecessary things from malls.

In conclusion, I would like to say that the disadvantages of the shopping malls outweigh the advantages. People should consider visiting malls only to purchase necessary products and should not make a compulsory activity wasting their precious time there.