In many societies, there is a growing emphasis on sustainable living and reducing environmental impact.

What are the challenges of adopting a sustainable lifestyle?

What practical actions can individuals take to contribute to sustainability?

Corncerns over the impacts of human being’s life on the nature are growing, especially in developed countries. However, it is challenging to embrace sustainability in our daily life. Fortanately, individuals still can implement some realistic practices to preserve our environment.

In my opinion, the major challenge to have a more sustainable life is higher prices of sustainable products than traditional ones. For example, spending five thousands of dollars to set up a solar power system is too expensive for an average family. If the prices of using renewable energies could be reduced to be equal or lower than traditional energies like coal, more people would be ready to use them. The reason is that sustainable technologies have just been developed in recent decades while there are only a few countries subsidying for these new industries. Therefore, it might be everyone’s responsibility to put more pressure on their government to finance sustainable industries more aggressively to make them cheaper.

Luckily, there are many wise pieces of advice to live a more sustainable life. Firstly, individuals can eliminate unnecessary consumptions. According to a recent article on The Economist, up to 30% of the world’s waste is from overconsumption, especially encouraged by fast fashion. By purchasing less clothes and using existing ones for longer time, we can reduce significant waste of good clothes and input resources to produce new ones. Secondly, households can simply make sure their waste to be categorised properly into recycle and non-recycle bins. It sounds simple but in fact, only 60% of reusable waste is categorised, leading to a huge amount of it not recycled.

In short, many people find it hard to adopt a sustainable lifestyle because sustanability is not affordable for them. However, it is advised that individuals can alleviate unnecessary consumption and support waste recycle by categorising waste mindfully.