Some people believe that professional athletes serve as positive role models for young people, while others argue that their behavior both on and off the field can have a negative influence.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Role models can inspire young people to improve themselves in life and work. While there are opinions that sportsmen can be great role models for young people, some people worry the athletes behavior in sport games and their private life can negatively affect the youth. In my opinion, children need to be taught to decide which qualities they should learn from their role models in sport and avoid copying harmful conducts of professional athletes.

There are good reasons that the youth can learn from the athletes. For example, Ronaldo has been practicing more than 10 hours everyday to be one of the best soccer players in the world. This alone is a good reminder for teenagers and young adults about the value of hard work at early ages and sacrifice to achieve great achievements. Additionally, in the past, sportspeople showed their tolerance and unity despite wars between their mother countries such as the U.S and Russia in Olympic competitions. If young people can learn to be open-minded like this, they can accelerate the speed of narrowing the differences and discrimination in their society and in the world.

However, because of the athletes’ fame, their undesirable behaviors’ impacts on young people are enlarged. It is not uncommon that some of the most famous athletes have indulged themselves too much by using drugs or partying overnight. Furthermore, athletes’ success sometimes comes together with bad personalities such as arrogance and aggressiveness. For example, Mike Tyson was notorious for his bite of his opponent’s ears in one historic boxing match. Under-18-year-old children may shallowly mimic these bad qualities, blindly hoping that those qualities may make other people look up to them.

Personally, I think it is better for the young people to build up the abilities to make proper judgements about the athletes. It is common that athletes can possess both great and poor qualities. Whether young people can access athletes’ admirable qualities to learn and avoid their poor behaviors is heavily dependent on the education children receive. Children may need to be trained to reflect on their role models through essays in schools or talks with parents.

In conclusion, while professional sportspeople possess admirable qualities to motivate children, the professionals’ poor behaviors can influence young people negatively. From my point of view, children need to be educated to filter athletes’ good qualities from bad examples to learn from.