In many societies in the world, the population is ageing rapidly and this is leading to an unsustainable increase in the cost of public healthcare.

A nation’s population should pay for their healthcare provision in the future.To what extend do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Owing to the dramatic increase of the elderly in the world, it has put a lot of strain on public finances, therefore, there are many arguments whether people should pay for health insurance out of their pockets in the future. While I tend to disagree with this solution, I also see an undeniable fact of running private hospitals in parallel with state-funded ones.

Firstly, public healthcare ensures that ageing people, especially, who are less financial advantage are entitled to free treatment, regardless of income, as it is a basic human right. Consequently, the elderly have pretty much valued the system for preventing them from worrying about the affordability of medical care. They also feel the sense of being treated equally as it is the universal medical service. Secondly, lack of government funding for heathcare can cause health problems for the public. As a result of this, it will lead to even more costs and serious risks to the community’s health. For instance, in most countries, patients, especially those who come from labour class get infected by tuberculousis disease have received free treatment from governments. This support is viewed as the the most essential step to actively protect the whole nation from being attacked by infectious diseases.

However, too much spending on public health sector will create burdens on tax payers. In the long run, if payments for this sector are not calculated prudently, it might lead to a budget deficit. In this way, tax payers might either be deprived a benefit from a completely free healthcare system or not receive an adequately medical quality standard when they get older.

In conclusion, I personally believe that government should still maintain the public healthcare systems rather than merely opt to the path of private ones. However, to reduce the over expenditure of state-owned fund on public medical care, private hospitals should be encouraged to develop too.