Many students choose to study at colleges and universities that are far away from the places where they grew up. Do the benefits of this outweigh the drawbacks?

There is a tendency for students to study at universities which are far away from their hometowns. Although this can result in a feeling of loneliness at first, I believe that there are more benefits because it will open up more opportunities to access the most modern study materials.

One of the most major drawbacks of this decision is that students usually get homesick when they first move to an unfamiliar place. Though it is a typical mechanism of the human body to protect itself from dangerous situations, it can produce high levels of stressful and depression. One survey from the Vietnam National University shows that more than 90% of Vietnamese international student go through homesick in their first one to three months. However, it also shows that there are many programs designed help these students overcome this difficult time, and they usually overcome it in the next three to six months.

After a period of time to recover from homesick, students commonly become more energetic because they now may be in the proper environment where can help accelerate their study and career. It is very common that students in developing countries want to study in developed countries to access modern equipment for their fields of study. For example, Vietnamese astronomy students often need to study abroad to access advanced apparatus. Thereby, I believe that it is definitely worth it to study in total new environment if it really helpful for the student’s learning path.

In conclusion, while experiencing homesickness may be challenging, the benefits of studying in a new environment outweigh the drawbacks.