Many students choose to study at colleges and universities that are far away from the places where they grew up. Do the benefits of this outweigh the drawbacks?

There are many students who decide to study in tertiary schools that are far from their hometown. Although studying far away can be expensive, I believe the benefits outweigh the drawbacks because it gives students a prospect of successful career in the future.

Studying remotely can cost students more money. This is because they have to rent houses or dormitory to stay in and pay for their basic needs. Universities or colleges that learners choose far from their home are usually big instituitions; therefore the tuition fees are much more expensive. For example, many students in the countryside in Vietnam decided to study at universities in big cities, and they usually have part-time jobs to afford their expenses. However, I believe that this problem is not significant comparing with opportunities that students can get.

The great advantage is that studying in remote colleges or tertiary schools can bring a better environment and more job opportunity to learners. That is to say that they will have to live independently and not rely on their families anymore. Therefore, they can get more experience and develop various life skills to become more mature. Employers are likely to hire those can have soft skills and independence. For instance, students who study abroad are tend to get highly-paid jobs and a successful life.

In conclusion, although it might be expensive to study in far universities or colleges as different expenses students have to spend on, they can get more experience and have an ideal job in the future. For these reasons, the positives far outnumber the negatives.