Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience.

Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

There are those who believe that taking some time between school and university in order to visit new countries or work can be an unjustifiable waste of time. In my opinion, the idea of taking a pause in the process of education is reasonable because students can obtain more conscious approach towards their future path in studying and profession.

The argument against usefullness of a gap year is that teenagers can loose their time without any positive outcomes. A lot of their parents are also anxious about how children would spend their time. They are afraid that after an educational pause students can decide not going to unvisersity at all. A lot of researches demonstrate same result: there are approximately 10 percent of students who left their education after a gap year taken after school. Thus, there are still a lot of worrying about how students spend their time during a break they can take.

Hovewer, taking a pause in order to travel or work could be a fascinating solution for some students. Since a lot of them feel pressure from their parents and acqueintaincies, they simly does not have enought time to think about their future goals and desires. Taking a gap year can help them to gain the more precise understanding of what they want to do in their future. This picture can significantly affect the choice of universities and following profession. According to the research results of a World Educational Organization, approximately half of the students felt stressed about their university decision at least once. That means, that having less pressure during a gap year will allow students to choose furute more carefully and consciously.

In conclusion, although that some people still believe that a gap year is an unsuful and time-consuming decision, for some students this pause can be vital because it will make their choice of profession and university more conscious.